Leadership and Exemplary Service Award

Presented by the Department of Pharmacology & Toxicology and the Pharmacology Graduate Student Association, this award is designed to recognize up to two (2) current graduate students or postdoctoral fellows from the Department of Pharmacology & Toxicology who have contributed significantly to student life and/or showed exemplary leadership in the past academic year. We realize that the student experience is more than coursework and research. Therefore, this award recognizes trainees who go above and beyond, and who, through their passion and good will, make sustained contributions to the student experience.

Eligibility criteria

  • Current graduate students and postdoctoral fellows in the Department of Pharmacology & Toxicology
  • Have not received this award previously during their graduate or postdoctoral career
  • Leadership and service may be exclusively to a lab, event, or to the Department more broadly, or to a combination of all three
  • Contributions made as part of a paid position (e.g., internships) are not eligible
  • Non-Departmental volunteer roles may be considered if they provide essential context for the Departmental leadership roles listed in the nomination form

Nomination process

  1. Nominations can be submitted by Faculty, staff, alumni, postdoctoral fellows or students (either self or peer-nomination). Members of the award adjudication committee are permitted to submit a nomination; however, they are asked to recuse themselves for the nomination they submit
  2. Nominations should consider the value and impact of the individual’s contributions, rather than the title of positions held
  3. Nominations must include concrete examples of how the individual has contributed to one or more of these areas and directly impacted the Department community:
    • Exhibited exemplary leadership on committees
    • Demonstrated influence on student/postdoc affairs
    • Improved the quality of life for students/postdocs through sustained and/or high-impact volunteer service
    • Engaged in promoting equity, diversity, and inclusivity in student/postdoc life and within the Department/broader U of T community
    • Inspired and facilitated the personal and/or professional development of others within the Departmental community
    • Contributed to the co-curricular experience and to student life more broadly
    • Provided leadership and/or service directly facilitating the engagement of fellow students/postdocs in U of T’s extra-curricular activities
  4. Demonstrated commitment to fostering a sense of community at the Department of Pharmacology & Toxicology
  5. Nominations will be submitted using a Microsoft Form by 5 PM on Friday, April 30, 2021